Green business, green careers and job training
Solutions that build smart communities with green careers and sustainable businesses!
HOME
EDITOR'S BLOG
FEATURE ARTICLES
GET STARTED

Save on Career Education through Lorman Education

Our readers are offered a discount on Lorman seminars and courses. Check out their business, management and legal offers at this link to qualify for our discounts. They also offer green business training opportunities. Please visit http://www.lorman.com/training/CaliforniaGreenSolutions for a complete listing of courses. Register online or call Lorman at 866-352-9539.
Home > Feature Articles > Agriculture & Organic Production

Beneficial Organisms for Farming and Gardening

Beneficial organisms are an important part of Integrated Pest Management (IPM) practices.

Find green business solutions
More than over 130 different species of beneficial organisms are used in agriculture and gardening. Not only are ladybugs and aphids included in the commercially available organisms, but native species such as bumble bees and earthworms are also used in sustainable farming.

When natural pest controls are used in place of pesticides and herbicides, it reduces the amount of pollution that enters our air and water, as well as soil. This improves the environment as well as the health of people and wildlife. Beneficial organisms are an important part of Integrated Pest Management (IPM) practices.

The sale and use of beneficial organisms are governed by U.S. EPA and state laws and regulations applicable to chemical pesticides. These organisms are widely available commercially and are not listed in this publication except in some instances in the comment sections of some suppliers.

California Beneficial Organism Regulations

The grass carp and the decollate snail listed in this list are regulated species in California. They are approved for use only in specific counties. Check with the California Fish and Game Commission for current regulations.

The importation and transportation of live crustaceans, molluscs, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals may require a permit. For further information contact: California Department of Fish and Game, Inland Fisheries Division, 1416 9th Street, Sacramento, California 95814. Telephones: (916) 653-8262 (for aquatic animals) - (916) 653-9742 (for other species).

SUPPLIERS OF BENEFICIAL ORGANISMS IN SOUTHERN CALIFORIA

NOTE: The Association of Natural Biocontrol Producers can provide an updated list of biocontrol suppliers.

ARBICO-Organics
Rick Frey
PO Box 8910
Tucson, AZ 85738-0910
PH 800.827.2847 FX 520.825.2038
Email info@arbico.com
Web http://http://www.arbico-organics.com

Associates Insectary
Brett Chandler
PO Box 969
Santa Paula, CA 93061-0969
PH 805.933.1301 FX 805.933.1304
Email info@associatesinsectary.com
Web http://www.associatesinsectary.com

Becker Underwood
Eda Reinot
801 Dayton Avenue
Ames, IA 50010
PH 515.232.5907 FX 515.817.0722
Email eda.reinot@beckerunderwood.com
Web http://www.beckerunderwood.com

Beneficial Insectary, INC.
Sinthya Penn
9664 Tanqueray Ct.
Redding, CA 96003
PH 800.477.3715 FX 888.472.0708
Email bi@insectary.com
Web http://www.insectary.com
Product List

FAR, Inc.
Joe Barcinas
550 Foothill Pkwy.
Corona, CA 92882
PH 951.371.0120 FX 951.279.5150
Email farinc@att.net

Hydro Gardens-HGI Worldwide
Mike Morton
PO Box 25845
Colorado Springs, CO 80936
PH 800.634.6362 FX 800.634.6362
Email mike.morton@hydro-gardens.com
Web http://www.hydro-gardens.com

IPM Laboratories
Carol Glenister
980 Main Street
Locke, NY 13092
PH 315.497.2063 FX 315.497.3129
Email carolg@ipmlabs.com
Web http://www.ipmlabs.com

Kunafin "The Insectary"
Frank Junfin
P.O. Box 190
13955 U.S. Hwy 277
Quemado, TX 78877
PH 830.757.1181 FX 830.757.1468
Email office@kunafin.com
Web http://www.kunafin.com

M&R Durango, Inc.
Lee Anne Merrill
P. O. Box 886
Bayfield, Colorado 81122
Email info@goodbug.com
Web www.goodbug.com

Rincon-Vitova Insectaries, Inc.
Jan Dietrick
P.O. Box 1555
Ventura, CA 93001
PH 805.643.5407 FX 805.643.6267
Email bugnet@rinconvitova.com
Web http://www.rinconvitova.com

Sespe Creek Insectary
Teri Blaser
PO Box 176
Lindsay, CA 93247
PH 559.562.6464 FX 559.562.5565
Email sespecreek@ocsnet.net

Sterling Insectary
Kim Gallagher Horton
PO Box 1987
Delano, CA 93216
PH 661.792.6810 FX 661.792.6880
Email kim@sterlinginsectary.com
Web http://www.sterlinginsectary.com

Syngenta Bioline, Inc.
Dan Cahn
PO Box 2430
Oxnard, CA 93034-2430
PH 805.986.8265 FX 805.986.8267
Email dcahn@SyngentaBioline.com
Web http://www.SyngentaBioline.com

PRACTIONERS

Marrone, Pamela
Marrone Bio Innovations
2121 Second St. Suite 107B
Davis, CA 95618
PH 530.750.2800
Email info@marroneorganics.com
Web http://www.marroneorganicinnovations.com

Wainwright-Evans, Suzanne
Buglady Consulting
4660 Trestle Lane
Slatington, PA 18080
PH: 610.767.9221
Email: suzanne@bugladyconsulting.com
Web http://www.bugladyconsulting.com

CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS

Flaherty, Donald
898 W. Kanai
Porterville, CA 93257
PH 559.782.8793

Scriven, Glenn
Biotactics (formerly)
30360 Norden Drive
Homeland, CA 92548
PH 951.926.0787
Email gls32@verizon.net

The Morning Star Packing Company
Renee Rianda
724 Main Street
Woodland, CA 95695
PH 530.666.6892 ext. 119
Email rrianda@morningstarco.com

DISTRIBUTORS

EcoSolutions, Inc.
James H. Cashion
2948 Landmark Way
Palm Harbor, FL 34684
PH 727.787.3669
Mobile: 727.688.6433
FX 727.787.3669
Email ecosolutions@mindspring.com
Web http://www.ecosolutionsbeneficials.com

Entomology Solutions, LLC
Blair Leano-Helvey
1355 Bardstown Rd., Suite 118
Louisville, KY 40204
PH 502.384.8953
Email blair@bugsbehavingbadly.com
Web www.bugsbehavingbadly.com

Evergreen Growers Supply
John Maurer
17592 S. Palmer Road
Oregon City, OR  97045
PH 503.522.0879  FAX 503.631.7954
Email  sales@evergreengrowers.com
Web http://www.evergreengrowers.com

The Green Spot Ltd.
Mike Cherim
93 Priest Rd.
Nottingham, NH  03290
PH 603.942.8925 FAX 603.942.8932
Emailinfo@greenmethods.com
Web http://www.greenmethods.com

Distribuciones Imex S.A. de C.V.
Antolin Diaz
Zapopan Jalisco Jalisco 45235
MEXICO
PH 52.33.3283.4639 FX 52.33.3684.8429
Emailadiaz@imex.mx
Web http://www.distribucionesimex.com

MGS Horticultural Inc.
Tom MacDonald
PO Box 33
Leamington, Ontario N8H 3W1
CANADA
PH 519.326.9037 FX 519.326.5861
Email tom@mgshort.com
Web http://www.mgshort.com

Nadler Farms
Hunter Nadler
7212 Rd 28
Madera, CA 93637
PH 559.674.2864 FX 559.674.2864
Email hunternadler@aol.com

Nez Perce Biocontrol Center
Paul Brusven
PO Box 365
Lapwai, ID 83540
PH 208.843.7392 FX 208.842.7391
Email pbrusven@nezperce.org
Web http://www.nezperce.org

Organic Control Inc. (Orcon)
Steve Hazzard
5132 Venice Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA  90019
PH 323.937.7444 FX 323.937.0123
Email steve@organiccontrol.com

Sound Horticulture
Alison Kutz
1050 Larrabee Ave. Suite 104 #365
Bellingham, WA 98229
PH 360.739.7095 FX 360.715.9264
Email Alison@soundhorticulture.com
Web www.soundhorticulture.com

Spalding Laboratories, Inc.
Tom Spalding
760 Printz Rd.
Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
PH 805.489.5946 FX 805.489.0336
Email tspalding@spalding-labs.com
Web http://www.spalding-labs.com

ASSOCIATE MEMBERS

Association of Applied IPM Ecologists
(AAIE)

P. O. Box 12181
Fresno, CA 93776
PH 559.761.1064 FAX 559.892.0662
Email: director@aaie.net
Web: http://www.aaie.net

California Certified Organic Farmers (CCOF}
1115 Mission Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
PH 831.423.2263 FAX 831.423.4528
Email ccof@ccof.org

Carlsen, Stacy
Marin Co. Agric. Commissioner
1682 Novato
Marin, CA 94947
PH 415.899.8601 FAX 415.899.8605
Email scarlsen@co.marin.ca.us

Coudron, Thomas
USDA ARS BCIRL
1503 So. Providence Road
Columbia, MO 65303 4261
PH 573.875.5361 ext. 225 FX 573.875.4261
Email coudront@missouri.edu

Creary, Scott
Phipps Conservatory
One Schenley Park
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
PH: 412.622.6915
Email: screary@phipps.conservatory.org

Currie, Bill
Int'l Pest Management Institute
PO Box 474
Ash Fork, AZ 86320-0474
PH 928.637.2378 FAX 928.637.2392
Email bugebill@earthlink.net

Dreistadt, Steve
IPM West Campus
University of California
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616-8620
PH 916.752.8876
Email shdreistadt@ucdavis.edu

Ghimire, Mukti
Department of Entomology
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
PH 225-578-3265, FX 225-578-1643
Email mghimire@agcenter.lsu.edu

IPMnet NEWS
2048 Cordley Hall
Corvallis, OR 97331-2915
USA
Email IPMnet@science.oregonstate.edu

Johnson, Marshall W.
Department of Entomology
University of California
Riverside, CA 92521,
PH 559-646-6519;
Email mjohnson@uckac.edu

Joyce, Andrea
Sierra Nevada Research Institute

University of California
Merced 5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, California 95343
PH 909.717.0912
Email: ajoyce2@ucmerced.edu
Web snri.ucmerced.edu/faculty/andrea_joyce

Kirker, Grant
USDA, ARS
810 Hwy 26, West
Poplarville, MS 39470
PH 601-403-8773
Email: grant.kirker@ars.usda.gov

Leopold, Roger A.
USDA ARS Biosciences Research Laboratory
1605 Albrecht Blvd.
Fargo, ND 58105
PH 701.239.1284 FX 701.239.1342
Email leopoldr@fargo.ars.usda.gov

Leppla, Norman
Dept. of Entomology & Nematology
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL 32611-0620
PH 352.392.1901 ext. 120 FAX 352.392.0190
Email ncl@ifas.ufl.edu

Luck, Robert F.
Department of Entomology
University of California
Riverside, CA 92521
PH 951.827.5713 FAX 951.827.3086
Email robert.luck@ucr.edu

Morales-Ramos, Juan A.
USDA ARS, NBCL
59 Lee Road
Stoneville, MS 38776
PH 662.686.3069 FX 662.686.5281
Email jmorales@msa-stoneville.ars.usda.gov

Ohio Ecological Food & Farm Assoc.
PO Box 82234
Columbus,  OH 43202
PH 614.294.FOOD FX 614.291.3276
Email oeffa@oeffa.org

Portilla, Maribel
USDA, ARS, BCPRU
Stoneville, MS 38776
PH 662.686.3660
Email Maribel.portilla@ars.usda.gov

Riddick, Eric W.
USDA, ARS BCPRU
Stoneville, MS 38776
PH 662.686.3646
Email eric.riddick@ars.usda.gov

Ridgway, Richard
BioManage Services
4613 Wildhoney Court
Flower Mound, TX 75022-1033
Email ridgwayr@verizon.net

Rojas, Guadalupe
USDA ARS
59 Lee Road
Stoneville, MS 38776
PH 662.686.5281 FX 662.686.5281
Email grojas@msa-stoneville.ars.usda.gov

Rosetta, Robin
Department of Horticulture

Oregon State University
North Willamette Res & Ext Ctr
15210 NE Miley Rd.
Aurora, OR 97002-9543
PH 503.678.1264 x33
Email robin.rosetta@oregonstate.edu

Smith, Hugh
Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station
Windsor, Connecticut  06095
PH 860.687.47.63
Email hugh.smith@ct.gov

Steve Tjosvold, Steve
University of California, Cooperative Extension Santa Cruz County
1432 Freedom Blvd.
Watsonville, CA 95076
PH 831.763.8040 FAX 831.728.7337
Email satjosvold@ucdavis.edu

Vorgetts, Joseph
USDA, APHIS, IS

US Embassy – Haiti Unit
3400, Box 9
DPO, AA 34060-0009
PH 301.204.9021
Email vorgettslj@state.gov

Yocum, George D.
USDA ARS
1605 Albrecht Blvd.
Fargo, ND 58105-5674
PH 701.239.1301 FX 701.239.1348
Email yocumg@fargo.ars.usda.gov

Zoller, Broc
The Pear Doctor, Inc.
PO Box 335
Kelsyville, CA 95451-0335
PH 707.279.9773 FAX 707.279.9808
Email peardoc@pacific.net



Edited by Carolyn Allen, owner/editor of California Green Solutions
Green Solution Providers
Green companies directory
Submit
your green solutions - business, nonprofit, government program.
It's free.
| ipm | biodiversity |

Share in Social Media

Sign Up For News & Information
Subscribe to our free solutions newsletter
BONUS DOWNLOAD (PDF)
"Ten+ Tips for Greening Your Office"

SUBSCRIBE HERE
Read prior issues: California GreenLines

Search For Green Solutions

Custom Search
Green Career Center
Green Job Wizard
Career Certifications Directory

green job training certifications
Green Biz Center
Solutions For Green
Directory of Green Companies

Solutions for Alternative Energy

rose in natural systems
Green Living Center
Solutions for Green: Consumers

Solutions for Remodeling

Backyard Nature Center

INSTANT GREEN POLL

"Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do." Goethe
RECENT ARTICLES
SITE NAVIGATION
ABOUT US

Related Articles

California's Abundant Transitional Ecosystems | Ecological Gradients

Marrone Bio Innovations Wins IPM Innovations Recognition

The Roots of Integrated Pest Management (IPM) in California

Related Green Resources

Marcom Tips
Interactive & Video Tips

Career Resources

We encourage lifelong learning to support sustainable communities and provide these select resources to help you pursue green and sustainable self-development:

Lorman Business Training Directory of On-line Business and Compliance Classes

Green Job Wizard Job and Career Certifications Directory

Job & Career Resources

Governance
Management
Manufacturing
Operations
Facilities
Transportation
Finance
Sales & Marketing
Human Resources

Green Economy

Business Sectors
Natural Resources

Solutions For Green

About Us ~ Privacy Policy
Contact Us ~ Home

Text Link Ads

AD: Place your link here

ABOUT CALIFORNIA GREEN SOLUTIONS

We help you green your career, workplace and community by connecting you to quality green, sustainable and high performance resources. California Green Solutions focuses attention on effective solutions that sustain our natural systems. You can support our editorial work by supporting our advertisers and spreading the word about best practices and green solutions.
California Green Solutions is a publication of Carolyn Allen ~ Copyright ©2006-2030 Carolyn Allen

B2B | Job Certifications | Alternative Energy | Events | Green Directory | LED Lights | Remodeling |
CONSUMERS | Backyard Nature | Senior Health | MultiMedia Marketing | Marketing | Networking Events | Japan |